Home » Boards & Committees » Historical Commission » News

Historical Commission News


November 17, 2016

Easton Historical Commission to Announce Award Recipients
January 22, 2017
And Hold Photography Competition
Sponsored by the Bank of Easton



The Easton Historical Commission will for the seventeenth year, announce the names of their preservation award recipients on Sunday, January 22, 2017 from 3 pm to 5 pm, at Oakes Ames Memorial Hall, North Easton (more information to follow). The Chaffin and Briggs Awards will be presented at this event.


The Chaffin Award is given to an individual who has made a significant contribution to historic preservation in the Town of Easton. The Briggs Award will be given in recognition of a building, site, landscape, architectural, or archeological project that is a significant part of Easton’s historical integrity.


Recipients of these prestigious awards will be carefully chosen by the Easton Historical Commission.


To complement this event, a photography competition for individuals who reside in Easton will be held. Entries will be accepted from November 1st through December 16th, 2016 and winners will be announced at the awards ceremony. The criteria for judging of these images will be equally divided between artistic ability, creativity of subject, and adherence to theme.

Theme: Part
I The Historic Beauty of Easton –Characterized as the historical treasures of Easton and may include architectural and archeological sites.


Theme: Part II The Natural Beauty of Easton – Characterized as the historical treasures of Easton as seen through its landscapes.


Theme: Part III The Beauty of Easton Through its People – Characterized as the capture of a person subject in an activity or landscape as the subject is unaware.

Theme: Part IV
Abstract Photograph of Oakes Ames Memorial Hall ($100 Prize).

Theme: Part V
The Bank of Easton Award – Characterized as The Pets/Animals of Easton.


  • All Photographs must be taken in Easton
  • Participants should extend beyond the traditional well-known sites of Easton
  • Entries accepted from November 1st through December 16th, 2016
  • Entries can be from previous year as well as current


Photography competition judging is based on:

  • Artistic ability
  • Creativity of subject (beyond typical traditional sites)
  • Adherence to theme


Photographic entries can be in color or in black and white and are limited to two pictures per entrant.  Size of submitted photos is outlined below. Photographs must be unframed, no borders, and not matted. No photo montages will be accepted. Photographs must have on back contact information, to include theme, name, phone number, email, and age category.


  • The Melanie Deware Memorial Children’s Category– through and including third grade (photograph size: 5x7 only)
  • Youth/Junior Category – fourth, fifth, and sixth grades (photograph size: 5x7 only)
  • Adult/Senior Category – seventh grade to adult (photograph size: 8x10


Photographs may be dropped off at or mailed to John Ventresco at 475 Depot St, S Easton, MA 02375.


                        This contest is open to residents of Easton only.

            All winning photo entries will be on display on January 22, 2017.


This event will also include the honoring of Easton’s oldest citizen with the Boston Post Cane, a tradition that dates back to the 1920’s. We thank North Easton Savings Bank for your continued sponsorship of this effort.


For more information regarding photo competition and Preservation Achievement Awards Program, please contact John Ventresco at 508-238-6950,


The Easton Historical Commission wishes to thank Bank of Easton for their continued support and sponsorship of the Achievement Awards Program and photography competition.