View this page in
| Text Size
| Facebook Icon Twitter Icon

Human Rights Committee

Easton's Human Rights Committee is a group of Easton residents dedicated to building a stronger, more unified Town—free from bigotry, hatred, intolerance, and disrespect. Current membership includes nine (9) at-large citizens, one (1) Board of Selectmen member, one (1) School Committee member, and one (1) Civil Rights Officer. Our meetings usually take place on the second Thursday of each month and are open to the public.

Our Mission

  • To promote Easton’s vision of a community that has as its core values freedom from bigotry, hatred, intolerance, and disrespect.
  • To build a stronger, more unified Town that respects and recognizes both our diversity and our commonalities.
  • To work with community groups and agencies to educate and to promote understanding to eliminate prejudice and intolerance.
  • To confront statements and actions that conflict with the core values expressed above.
Read a full copy of the Human Rights Committee’s charge, adopted by the Selectmen on March 23, 2009 and amended on February 26, 2018.

View the latest Human Rights Committee flyer.

Download the Easton Guide to Holiday Observance.

Current Members

Name Membership Term Expiration
Ilisabeth Bornstein Chair 06/30/2020
Karen Chan Vice Chair 06/30/2020
Craig Barger BOS Representative 06/30/2019
Amy Gershman Member 06/30/2019
Irene Deane Member 06/30/2020
Alikki Kiniklis Member 06/30/2021
Beth Devonshire Member 06/30/2021
Michelle Durrance School Committee Representative 06/30/2019
Tiffany Sears Member 06/30/2019
Alison Urciuoli Member 06/30/2019
Faiza Bokhari Member 06/30/2021
Matthew Badoud Civil Rights Officer  


American Civil Liberties Union of Massachusetts (ACLU)

Southern Poverty Law Center (SPLC)

Anti-Defamation League of New England (ADL)

Hate Has No Home Here

Bystander Resources

Boston Active Bystander Coalition Facebook Page

The Human Rights Committee welcomes questions and comments. Please email us at