Home > More News > Easton Historical Commission to Announce Award Recipients and Hold Photography Competition

Easton Historical Commission to Announce Award Recipients and Hold Photography Competition


Town Seal

The Easton Historical Commission will for the sixteenth year, announce the names of their preservation award recipients on Saturday, January 9, 2016 from 3 pm to 5 pm, at Oakes Ames Memorial Hall, North Easton (more information to follow). The Chaffin and Briggs Awards will be presented at this event.

The Chaffin Award is given to an individual who has made a significant contribution to historic preservation in the Town of Easton. The Briggs Award will be given in recognition of a building, site, landscape, architectural, or archeological project that is a significant part of Easton’s historical integrity.


Recipients of these prestigious awards will be carefully chosen by the Easton Historical Commission.


To complement this event, a photography competition for individuals who reside in Easton will be held. Click here to learn more about the photo contest.  Entries will be accepted from November 1st through December 18th, 2015 and winners will be announced at the awards ceremony. The criteria for judging of these images will be equally divided between artistic ability, creativity of subject, and adherence to theme.

 The four themes are:

                                    Historic Beauty of Easton

                                    Natural Beauty of Easton

                                    Beauty of Easton through its People

                                    Bank of Easton Award:  Pets/Animals of Easton (Domestic or Wild)


We ask participants to reach beyond the traditional typical well-known sites of Easton. Each photographic entry may be in color or black and white. Entries are limited to two images per contestant. Each photograph must be labeled on the back with photographer’s name, age, location of photo, date photo was taken, category of participation, and contact information. All photographs must be submitted in size designated for its category, must not have borders, not framed and not matted. Montages will not be accepted.


Photographs may be dropped off at or mailed to John Ventresco at 475 Depot St, S Easton, MA 02375.


This contest is open to residents of Easton only.

All winning photo entries will be on display on January 9, 2016.


This event will also include the honoring of Easton’s oldest citizen with the Boston Post Cane, a tradition that dates back to the 1920’s. We thank North Easton Savings Bank for your continued sponsorship of this effort.


For more information regarding photo competition and Preservation Achievement Awards Program, please contact John Ventresco at 508-238-6950,



The Easton Historical Commission wishes to thank Bank of Easton for their continued support and sponsorship of the Achievement Awards Program and photography competition